2014 NHL Awards: Nominees and last season’s recipients

Getty Images

Getty Images


Tomorrow night the best of the NHL will walk the red carpet into Encore Theatre in Las Vegas for the 2014 NHL Awards Show, hosted by television and radio broadcaster George Stroumboulopoulos with special performances from Phillip Phillips and DJ Steve Porter.

The Awards ceremony will broadcast live from the Wynn hotel in Las Vegas on Tuesday, June 24 at 7:00 p.m. ET on NBCSN in the U.S. and on CBC in Canada.

Here’s a list of nominee’s for the 2014 NHL awards and a look back at who took home the hardware last summer:



Hart Memorial Trophy- Player judged to be the most valuable to his team
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers

2013 Winner: Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals


Vezina Trophy- Top goaltender in the NHL
Ben Bishop, Tampa BayLightning
Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins
Semyon Varlamov, Colorado Avalanche

2013 Winner: Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets


Norris Memorial Trophy- NHL’s top defenseman
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Duncan Keith, ChicagoBlackhawks
Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

2013 Winner: P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens


Calder Memorial Trophy- Most proficient first year player
Tyler Johnson, Tampa Bay Lightning
Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
Ondrej Palat, Tampa Bay Lightning

2013 Winner: Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers


Getty Images

Getty Images


Ted Lindsay Award-  Most outstanding player in the NHL
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers

2013 Winner: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins


Frank J. Selke Trophy- Forward who best excels in the defensive aspect of the game
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Anze Kopitar, LosAngelesKings
Jonathan Toews, ChicagoBlackhawks

2013 Winner: Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks


Jack Adams Award-  Coach to contribute the most to his team’s success
Mike Babcock, Detroit Red Wings
Jon Cooper, TampaBayLightning
Patrick Roy, Colorado Avalanche

2013 Winner: Paul Maclean, Ottawa Senators


NHL General Manager of the Year Award-  Top NHL GM
Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens
Dean Lombardi, Los Angeles Kings
Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks

2013 Winner: Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy-  Played to exhibit the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability
Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks
Ryan O’Reilly, ColoradoAvalanche
Martin St. Louis, New York Rangers

2013 Winner: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning


NHL Foundation Player Award- NHL Player who applies the core values of ice hockey to enrich the lives of people in his community
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks
Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks

2013 Winner: Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings


Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy-  Player who best exemplifies the qualities of persaverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the game
Jaromir Jagr, New Jersey Devils
Manny Malhotra, Carolina Hurricanes
Dominic Moore, New York Rangers

2013 Winner: Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild


Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone-  Player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season
Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

2013 Winner: Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

Getty Images

Getty Images



2014 NHL Award Recipients that have already been announced: 
Art Ross TrophySidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Andrew Ference, Edmonton Oilers
Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
William M. Jennings Trophy: Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings
Conn Smythe Trophy: Justin Williams, Los Angeles Kings
Presidents’ Trophy: BostonBruins
Prince of Wales Trophy: NewYork Rangers
Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Los Angeles Kings
Stanley Cup: Los Angeles Kings



Which nominee’s from each category do you think should take home the prize tomorrow night?


Popular on The Hockey Guys:

Hartnell Down: Flyers trade Scott Hartnell to Columbus for R.J. Umberger

Changes to Los Angeles Kings’ Roster will be Strictly Voluntary


One Response to 2014 NHL Awards: Nominees and last season’s recipients

  1. Pingback: NHL Rundown: Brodeur 'unlikely' to return to Devils, | The Hockey Guys

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *