Crosby takes home second Hart, MacKinnon named NHL’s top rookie at Awards Show

Getty Images

Getty Images

Last night the stars of the NHL gathered at the Encore Theatre at the Wynn in Las Vegas for the annual NHL Awards Show where the Colorado Avalanche and Boston Bruins combined for six trophy wins, including Tuukka Rask’s first Vezina.


Here’s a list of winners from the 2014 NHL Awards Show:

Getty Images

Getty Images


Hart Trophy: Sidney Crosby earned his second Hart Trophy in his nine-season career after tallying an NHL leading 68 assists and 104 points. The Penguins captain  received 128 first-place votes from the Professional Hockey Writer’s Association in the Hart category.  Crosby also accepted the Art Ross Trophy as the league’s leading scorer.

Jack Adams: In his debut season behind the Colorado Avalanche bench, Patrick Roy was the 2014 recipient for the coach of the year award, leading his team to a 112 point season (52-22-8). With Roy as their head coach, the Avs matched a franchise record for wins, ranked fourth in the NHL in goals with 250, and had the best road record of the season (26-11-4).

Calder Trophy: Last June, Nathan MacKinnon stood at a podium in Newark, New Jersey as the No. 1 overall draft pick in the 2013 NHL Draft. This year, MacKinnon stood in front of a crowded room once again, only this time to accept the award as the league’s top rookie. MacKinnon led all rookies in points (63), collecting 24 goals, 39 assists, 8 power-play goals and five game-winners.

Lady Byng: Ryan O’Reilly, another member of the Colorado Avalanche, also took home an award at last night’s show after receiving just one minor penalty all season. O’Reilly earned the skill and sportsmanship award for his lack of infractions and his career-high 64 points.

Frank Selke: Patrice Bergeron earned his second Selke trophy in the last three years as the NHL’s top defenseive forward. Bergeron led the NHL in face-off wins (1,015) and ranked second in plus-minus with a +38.  The Bruins forward was also honored for the work he puts in off the ice, receiving the NHL Foundation Player Award for community service.

Getty Images

Getty Images

Vezina Trophy: The award for the NHL’s top goaltender went to Boston Bruins netminder, Tuukka Rask who earned his first nomination and win after putting up a 36-15-6 record.

Norris Trophy: Chicago Blackhawks blueliner Duncan Keith won his second Norris trophy, making him the NHL’s only active defenseman with multiple Norris wins. Keith lead all NHL defensemen with 55 assists.

NHL GM of the Year: Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks earned the award as the league’s top general manager after piecing his team together in such a way that they captured the Pacific Division for the second straight season as well as tallying the Western Conference’s best record for the first time in club history. The team also added some franchise records in wins (54), points (116), home wins (29) and road wins (25).

Bill Masteron Memorial: There was no one more deserving than New York Rangers forward Dominic Moore, who received the award for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey in his NHL return.  Moore took a leave of absence

from the league to take care of his wife, Katie, after she had been diagnosed with a rare form of liver cancer. Katie Moore passed away in January of 2013 at the age of 32.

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy: An award he has become increasingly familiar with, Washington Capitals right wing Alexander Ovechkin once again earned the Rocket Richard Trophy as the NHL’s leading goal-scorer. Ovechkin has won this award four times in his NHL career.

William M. Jennings Trophy: Los Angeles Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick received this award as the goaltender on the club that allowed the fewest regular-season goals (174).

King Clancy & Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award: Dustin Brown and Andrew Ference were honored at last night’s event for their dedication to leadership and service in their communities. Brown was the recipient of the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone while Ference  received the King Clancy.



Recommended by The Hockey Guys:

NHL Rundown: Brodeur ‘unlikely’ to return to New Jersey, O’Reilly in limbo

8 Reasons the Montreal Canadiens Need to Acquire Evander Kane

Changes to Los Angeles Kings’ Roster will be Strictly Voluntary


One Response to Crosby takes home second Hart, MacKinnon named NHL’s top rookie at Awards Show

  1. Pingback: 8 Reasons Why Ales Hemsky Would Fit with the Montreal Canadiens | The Hockey Guys

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *