TheHockeyGuys 2012 NHL Award Results

Photo courtesy of AP

Since none of us here, at, have the privilege to vote for the real NHL Awards, I thought it would be a great idea if all of the writers on this website made picks for each major award and I posted the results here. There’s an interesting twist in this ballot, though. The writers don’t have to vote for the three finalists that are up for the award in real life, and can vote for whoever we so desire for each one. For example, if any of us thought Claude Giroux should win, or be among the top three candidates, for the Hart trophy, we can vote for him on our three man ballot. If any of us thought Jonatahan Quick should win the Hart Trophy, or be among the top three candidates, same thing…vote for him.

I emailed each writer and every single one of them replied with their votes. On the ballot you vote for three players for each award in order of preference. The player, Coach or General Manager first on your list gets three points in the standings. Second place gets two, and a third place vote earns one point. For example:


1. Shea Weber – three points
2. Ryan Suter – two points
3. Kevin Klein – one point

Without further ado, here are the final results for each major NHL award as voted on by every writer on this website.


1st. Evgeni Malkin (PIT) – 37
2nd. Claude Giroux (PHI) – 22
3rd. Jonathan Quick (LA) – 13


1st. Jonathan Quick (LA) – 33
2nd. Henrik Lundqvist (NYR) – 28
3rd. Pekka Rinne (NSH) – 17


1st. Erik Karlsson (OTT) – 31
2nd. Shea Weber (NSH) – 22
3rd. Zdeno Chara (BOS) – 16


1st. Patrice Bergeron (BOS) – 30
2nd. Pavel Datsyuk (DET) – 23
3rd. David Backes (STL) – 16


1st. Gabriel Landeskog (COL) – 39
2nd. Adam Henrique (NJD) – 19
3rd. Ryan Nugent Hopkins (EDM) – 17

Lady Byng

T-1st. Brian Campbell (FLA) – 22
T-1st. Matt Moulson (NYI) – 22
T-3rd. Jordan Eberle (EDM) – 7
T-3rd. Pavel Datsyuk (DET) – 7

Jack Adams

1st. Ken Hitchcock (STL) – 27
2nd. Paul MacLean (OTT) – 15
3rd. Dave Tippett (PHX) – 13

Bill Masterton

1st. Max Pacioretty (MTL) – 23
2nd. Joffrey Lupul (TOR) – 20
3rd. Daniel Alfredsson (OTT) – 9

Messier Leadership Award

1st. Nicklas Lidstrom (DET) – 12
2nd. Daniel Alfredsson (OTT) – 10
3rd. Shane Doan (PHX) – 9

GM of the Year

1st. Dale Tallon (FLA) – 25
2nd. Paul Holmgren (PHI) – 18
T-3rd. David Poile (NSH) – 17
T-3rd. Doug Armstrong (STL) – 17

Well, there you have it. I stress again that these are not all the candidates up for each award in real life. Each writer was given the freedom to vote for whoever they felt was worth of each award, regardless if they were a finalist or not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *